Short Hills Robbery Lawyer
When someone uses physical force or threatens to cause bodily harm while committing theft, they can be charged with robbery. Robbery is considered a serious offense in New Jersey and even a first-time conviction can result in a 10-year prison sentence and up to $150,000 in fines. Furthermore, when the criminal court sentences a person for robbery, they are subject to the No Early Release Act (NERA). Under NERA, a convicted defendant is required to serve at least 85% of their sentence before becoming eligible for parole. To learn more about these crimes and the charges you might face after a conviction, call a Short Hills robbery lawyer. Our dedicated criminal attorneys will fight for you.
What Is Robbery?
While sometimes confused with each other, robbery and burglary are separate criminal offenses. Robbery involves stealing an item or items directly from another person, while burglary involves entering a building or structure with the intent to commit a crime therein.
New Jersey Revised Statute § 2C:15-1 identifies the elements that must be met in order for a prosecutor to obtain a conviction for robbery. A person may be convicted of robbery if, in the course of committing a theft, he:
(1) Inflicts bodily injury or uses force upon another; or
(2) Threatens another with or purposely puts him in fear of immediate bodily injury; or
(3) Commits or threatens immediately to commit any crime of the first or second degree.
It is also important to note that these elements can be met if the act occurs in an attempt to commit a theft, or in immediate flight after the attempt or commission of the theft. A knowledgeable attorney in Short Hills could examine a robbery case to find holes in the prosecutor’s argument.
Potential Penalties for a Robbery Conviction
Robbery is a second-degree crime in most cases. This means that there is a presumption of incarceration upon conviction. The minimum mandatory prison sentence, if convicted, is five years and the maximum prison sentence that may be imposed is ten years. A conviction will also expose you to a potential maximum fine of $150,000, which is determined at the discretion of the judge.
There are certain circumstances, however, that enable the prosecution to charge robbery as a first-degree offense. This can occur if, in the course of committing the theft, the perpetrator does any of the following:
- Attempts to kill anyone, or
- Purposely inflicts or attempts to inflict serious bodily injury, or
- Is armed with or uses or threatens the immediate use of a deadly weapon.
Under New Jersey law, a deadly weapon includes any item capable of causing death or inflicting severe bodily injuries, such as firearms, knives, swords, or bats. Fortunately, a hardworking lawyer could fight to reduce robbery charges in Short Hills and work to get the best case outcome possible.
Enlist the Help of a Skilled Robbery Attorney in Short Hills
If the state charges you with robbery, you must take the allegation seriously. A conviction can have lifelong consequences that can significantly impact you, even long after incarceration ends.
If you are charged with robbery, our experienced defense attorneys can help. We will thoroughly review the details of your charges to develop a strategic approach to your defense.
Schedule a meeting with our team today to learn more about how you can protect your legal rights. Our Short Hills robbery lawyers will aggressively advocate on your behalf and ensure that you have a powerful defense.